Côtes du Rhône

The Côtes du Rhône appellation area runs along the Rhône Valley for 200 km and stretches from Vienne in the north to Avignon in the south. We can distinguish the Northern Rhône Valley whose vineyard is mainly planted on hillsides, on the left and right banks of the Rhône; of the Southern Rhône Valley which presents much more varied landscapes, between hills, steep relief, alluvial plains, plateaus and terraces.

The AOC Côtes du Rhône is the largest regional appellation after Bordeaux, it covers 163 municipalities spread across six departments (Rhône, Loire, Drôme, Ardèche, Gard and Vaucluse). The municipalities of Jonquerettes, Saint-Saturnin-lès-Avignon, Châteauneuf-de-Gadagne, Vedène, Sorgues, Morières-lès-Avignon and Caumont-sur-Durance, have been recognized in the area of ​​the Côtes du Rhône appellation from 1937.

The wines of the AOC Côtes du Rhône are mainly produced in the southern part of the appellation and represent more than 1.3M hectoliters. With all these different terroirs and climates, the wines of the AOC Côtes du Rhône, mostly red, are very diverse.

la taille

© David Bouscarle

Le mont Ventoux

© David Bouscarle